Furry Potato Shooting – Guard Charge Evaluation Sheet

FattMatt

You have no conceptual understanding of the law. Law considers the totality of the circumstances, not just the letter of the law. Maybe you shouldn't be practicing law, since you're horrible at it.
Are you sure you were responding to my statement, as I clearly pointed out a person's rights when having to deal with someone with no authority.

RogueRivered

Cassano sounds like a cop. They can twist the law anyway they want to make it fit their narrative.

Cassano

Cassano sounds like a cop. They can twist the law anyway they want to make it fit their narrative.
I WAS a cop for 20 years and a POST instructor in Constitutional Law. I also spent 15 years as a Paralegal / Chief Investigator for a Criminal and Traffic Defense law firm. I'm not twisting anything, sunshine. I'm stating what the precedent case law has established. The ruling of the DA in the Furry Potato case is sound and has a proper legal foundation. While the actions of the security guard were reckless, prior to that, he had lawful authority, considering the totality of the circumstances, to demand the citizen leave even a public sidewalk if he perceived their presence was a potential threat. That's not MY SPIN, you idiot. That's what the courts have determined in similar situations and clearly the DA's office applied those legal principles.

RogueRivered